The Economics Network

Improving economics teaching and learning for over 20 years

Session list for Autumn 2020 training

See the training programme overview for context.

Key topics, orientation & introductions

As this is the first session of your workshop we should introduce you to how this will work. Every section will consist of some material provided to you via this website. In pedagogy we often call such material asynchronous material. It is merely material made available to you before a scheduled live (or synchronous) session. And we expect that you will engage with this material as instructed before the live session. This is very much like you would expect students to engage with course content. In fact, this is a hallmark of our workshop that we attempt to practice as we preach.

This session will be brought to you by the following Associates and Senior Associates of the Economics Network

Name

University

email

Ralf Becker

University of Manchester

ralf.becker@manchester.ac.uk

Alvin Birdi

University of Bristol

alvin.birdi@bristol.ac.uk

Caroline Elliott

University of Warwick

Caroline.Elliott@warwick.ac.uk

Annika Johnson

University of Bristol

annika.johnson@bristol.ac.uk

Maria Kozlovskaya

Aston University

m.kozlovskaya@aston.ac.uk

Christian Spielmann

University of Bristol

christian.spielmann@bristol.ac.uk

The live session will take place:

New Lecturers: Tuesday 15 September (1pm-2.30pm) or
Graduate Teaching Assistants: Friday 18 September (3pm-4.30pm) 

During the live sessions we will take attendance which is required for you to gain your certificate.

Learning Outcomes

After engaging with the content in this session we expect that you 

  • Have a basic understanding of the importance of teaching in the Higher Education Sector
  • Have a basic insight into the political and societal pressures acting on the Higher Education sector, with a particular focus on economics departments
  • Have an understanding of the opportunities available to you as a member of the teaching profession
  • Have a clearer insight into the expectations placed on new lecturers/graduate teaching assistants at a university in the UK.

Creating Learning Communities

Session dates:

21 & 23 September (both 3pm-4.30pm)

This session will be brought to you by the following Associates and Senior Associates of the Economics Network

Name

University 

email

Cloda Jenkins

UCL

cloda.jenkins@ucl.ac.uk

Ralf Becker

University of Manchester

ralf.becker@manchester.ac.uk

Dimitra Petropoulou

London School of Economics

d.petropoulou@lse.ac.uk

Jon Guest

University of Aston

j.guest1@aston.ac.uk

Learning Outcomes

After attending and participating in this section you should:

  • Understand the concept of a community of learners
  • Understand the potential benefits for students feeling part of such a community
  • Have seen a range of examples of how universities have attempted to foster such a community
  • Have seen a range of tools you, as a lecturer, could use to help your students creating ties which could potentially lead to the formation of a learner community
  • Have reflected on what you, in the context of your job, can contribute to creating a community of learners.

Engaging Students in Small Groups

Live session times:

Thursday 1 October, 1pm
Friday 2 October, 10am
Tuesday 6 October, 2pm
Friday 9 October, 12pm

This session will be brought to you by the following Associates and Senior Associates of the Economics Network

Name

University 

email

Dr Dean Garratt

Aston University

d.garratt@aston.ac.uk

Prof Ralf Becker

University of Manchester

ralf.becker@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Iain Long

Cardiff University

longiw@cardiff.ac.uk

Dr Maria Kozlovskaya

Aston University

m.kozlovskaya@aston.ac.uk

Dr Robert Riegler

Aston University

r.riegler@aston.ac.uk

Dr Mario Pezzino

University of Manchester

mario.pezzino@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Liliana Harding

University of East Anglia

liliana.harding@uea.ac.uk

Dr Stefania Paredes Fuentes

University of Warwick

s.paredes-fuentes@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Christian Spielmann

University of Bristol

christian.spielmann@bristol.ac.uk